Jury Members

Claudio de Maglio

Claudio de Maglio - short online pictureActor, director, Italian playwright. Headmaster of the Civica d’Arte Drammatica. An expert in techniques of expression and in commedia dell’arte. In the last few years he conducted workshops which resulted with a creation of a theatre company known as “Centro Teatro Ateneo” at the La Sapienza University in Rome. With this company he participated in the International Theatre Schools Festival in Warsaw twice in 2006 and 2009. Currently, as a director and a teacher, he works on the project for actors named “Potlach Theatre”.

More details on this member

José Maria Vieira Mendes

José Maria Vieira Mendes - online picture

Born in 1976 in Lisbon. Playwright and translator. He has written several plays (1 Bed FlatMy WomanThe Miser or The Last PartyAnaPadam Padam, etc.), produced in Portugal, translated into many languages (among them English, French, Spanish, Italian, Polish, Norwegian  German, Turkish, Hungarian, etc.), which were published in Portugal in a first volume of plays in 2008. He has translated plays by Samuel Beckett, Harold Pinter, Heiner Müller, R.W. Fassbinder, Bertolt Brecht, René Pollesch, etc. He has written several texts for works by the visual artist Vasco Araújo and two librettos for operas. More recently, he has been writing essays on theatre and literature, which have been published in several magazines and books. Member of Teatro Praga (www.teatropraga.com). He has won several important Portuguese theatre prizes, such as “Prémio Acarte / Madalena Perdigão” (1999), “Prémio Revelação Ribeiro da Fonte” for his work in the season 1998/1999 and “António José da Silva” Prize for best Portuguese-Brazilian play (2005).

More details on this member

Andrés Lima


Spanish actor, playwright and director based in Madrid. Since 1991, he directed around 20 theatre productions. He cooperates with Compania Riesgo, which he founded in 1993. He is also engaged  in Animalario – company, which he cofounded together with his long-standing coworker Alberto San Juan. In 2003 Animalario received an award for the Best Theatre Company. His most distinguish role is the one from “Barat Pornography” directed by Alejandro y Ana (2002). He is also a movie and TV actor.

More details on this member

Yang ChyiWen


Taiwanese set designer and architect, professor at the Taipei National University of the Arts (TNUA). As an expert in the field of theatre architecture, he lectures on the history of architecture, theatre craft, fundamentals of design, stage design and arts administration. He studied at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana, USA, where he earned an MFA from the College of Architecture and Planning and another from the College of Theatre and Dance. He also earned an MFA in stage design from the Theatre and Drama department of Indiana University. Since 1985 he has lectured at TNUA, where he led the School of Theatre from 2009-2012. He has published several books and numerous articles on stage design and on designing structures for cultural institutions. He has worked as a stage designer on more than a dozen theatrical productions, including Brecht’s Caucasian Chalk Circle (1986), Chekhov’s The Seagull (1990) and Aristophanes’ The Birds (2002). From 2007-2008 he served as artistic director of the National Theatre and Concert Hall of the Chiang Kai-shek Cultural Center. He has participated in and coordinated many projects involving theatrical planning, communication and architecture. He recently led workshops with tribal members in Hualien County.